Diversity Spotlight Thursday: #1

November 3, 2016 Diversity Spotlight Thursday, Features 1

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks. It consists on choosing every week, one book for each of the three categories: A Diverse Book You Have Read and Enjoyed, A Diverse Book on Your TBR, and A Diverse Book that Has Not Yet Been Released. This is supposed to be a way to give diverse books the much needed spotlight. Hopefully we can all find new books to add to the TBR!

Let’s Begin:

A Book I Have Read:

Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older – Goodreads | Amazon 

shadowshaper

Cassandra Clare meets Caribbean legend in SHADOWSHAPER, an action-packed urban fantasy from a bold new talent.

Sierra Santiago was looking forward to a fun summer of making art, hanging out with her friends, and skating around Brooklyn. But then a weird zombie guy crashes the first party of the season. Sierra’s near-comatose abuelo begins to say “No importa” over and over. And when the graffiti murals in Bed-Stuy start to weep…. Well, something stranger than the usual New York mayhem is going on.

Sierra soon discovers a supernatural order called the Shadowshapers, who connect with spirits via paintings, music, and stories. Her grandfather once shared the order’s secrets with an anthropologist, Dr. Jonathan Wick, who turned the Caribbean magic to his own foul ends. Now Wick wants to become the ultimate Shadowshaper by killing all the others, one by one. With the help of her friends and the hot graffiti artist Robbie, Sierra must dodge Wick’s supernatural creations, harness her own Shadowshaping abilities, and save her family’s past, present, and future.

This was the first book I chose in an effort to consciously read more diversely, and I couldn’t be happier with the choice! It’s Urban Fantasy infused with Puerto Rican culture, and I loved the refreshing change! The protagonist is an afro-latina, all the characters are from different parts of the Caribbean, and the writing is so amazing that I could actually feel myself in Brooklyn! If you want to know some more of my thoughts, check out my review, here.


A Book on my TBR:

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera Goodreads | Amazon

more happy

In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again–but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.

When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron’s crew notices, and they’re not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can’t deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can’t stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute’s revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.
Why does happiness have to be so hard?

I recently bought the paperback of More Happy than Not, though I’ve wanted to read this book for so long! I didn’t know it had a Puerto Rican protagonist until the other day, and the summary is giving me major ETERNAL SUNSHINE OF THE SPOTLESS MIND feels. I think this book sounds incredible, so I hope to read it soon!


A Book Releasing Soon:

Timekeeper by Tara Sim – Goodreads | Amazon

timekeeper

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

Ahhhh Timekeeper! I read an eARC of this one, (In fact, you can see my review, here), and let me tell you I LOVED it. Timekeeper had diversity so seamlessly integrated into the novel. Not to mention, our main character is gay, and no one bats an eye about it in Victorian London. The author mentions in her author’s note that while it isn’t technically historically accurate, she “wanted Danny to be part of a society that was more indifferent than punishing. With the number of secrets he keeps close to his chest, [she] didn’t want this important, fundamental part of him to be a secret as well”.  I seriously recommend this book. It’s the first in a trilogy, so you’re in for a wild ride!

THIS BOOK RELEASES ON NOVEMBER 8TH, 2016. 


So, that’s it for today! Have you read any of these? What would be your 3 book choices?

The following two tabs change content below.
I'm Marianne. Professional Fangirl, part-time Blogger. Full-time college student. GIFs are a natural part of my posts, so be warned. I LOVE reading, so definitely feel free to discuss books with me. Opinions are welcome.