Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

July 22, 2015 Book 7 ★★★★

Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy NelsonI'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
Genres: Young Adult, Realistic Fiction, LGBT, Contemporary
Published by Dial Books on September 16th 2014
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads
AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
four-stars

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world. This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

I felt like I was reading not a book, but a piece of art. The writing seems like it can’t be contained by a piece of paper, like the words are dying to fly out to you so you can experience the story quicker. Although I warn you, if you’re not a fan of purple prose, of prolific metaphors or comparisons, the writing will be much more difficult to swallow for you.

“Her face slides off her face – no one can keep their faces on today – and the one underneath is desperate.”

I absolutely loved this book. it was beautiful, and heartbreaking, and brilliant, and strange. It was a plethora of emotions and thoughts that were just THAT good.

This book is about a broken family, it’s about a girl learning to love again, about a boy trying to discover who he is. This book is about so many things at once but never does it feel like too much. It’s narrated by both Noah and Jude. Noah 3 years ago and Jude now. They both tell us their side of the story, which is extremely enlightening when you find out both sides. I found that I liked Noah’s POV more because between him and Jude, he was the introvert. I felt like I related to him more. Jude came off as irritating to me at first maybe because she was so closed off on the world. It wasn’t until I got to know her through Noah’s POV and as the story progressed that I liked her more.

“I didn’t know you could get buried in your own silence.”

It deals with topics such as grief, loneliness, sibling rivalry, sex, sexual orientation, and family so realistically and so well put together that it’ll be hard for oh to believe that this is a work of fiction.

“How can people die when you’re in a fight with them? When you’re smack in the middle of hating them? When absolutely nothing between you has been worked out?”

The way the story flows from past to present so effortlessly makes me believe Jandy Nelson doesn’t write, but create magic with her hands. This book was magic to me.

It made me smile, laugh, cry, explode in anger, and drown in sadness. It made me want to create something with my bare hands. As I have not a single creative bone in my body, I’ll let my review be my “work of art” so to speak. This book is unlike any other.  If you have it on your bookshelf but haven’t gotten to it, read it. If you see it on a shelf in your library, borrow it. I hope you won’t regret it.

“Or maybe a person is just made up of a lot of people,” I say. “Maybe we’re accumulating these new selves all the time.” Hauling them in as we make choices, good and bad, as we screw up, step up, lose our minds, find our minds, fall apart, fall in love, as we grieve, grow, retreat from the world, dive into the world, as we make things, as we break things.

Rating Report
Plot
four-stars
Characters
four-half-stars
Writing
five-stars
Pacing
four-stars
Romance
four-stars
Overall: 4.3

Think my review was helpful? Then please consider voting for it on Goodreads. 🙂
The following two tabs change content below.
I'm Marianne. Professional Fangirl, part-time Blogger. Full-time college student. GIFs are a natural part of my posts, so be warned. I LOVE reading, so definitely feel free to discuss books with me. Opinions are welcome.
  • Karen

    I’ve had this on my shelf for so long but I haven’t been in that frame of mind to read it yet.Maybe after the summer ends I’ll be up for something more serious.

    Karen @For What It’s Worth

  • This book is everything. EVERYTHING.

  • “Jandy Nelson doesn’t write, but create magic with her hands”

    I totally quote it.
    It was simply incredible and beautiful in every possible way!

  • shootingstarsmag

    I really loved this one, and I NEED to read her debut. It sounds just as fantastic.

    -Lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

  • This book was amazing!!! A work of art is a perfect way to describe it.

  • It was such a beautifully written book wasn’t it? The purple prose was hard to get into, but I really learnt to appreciate it for what it was. Lovely review Marianne!

  • Oh my gosh, these are some fantastic quotes-I can tell I would love the writing style already! A book that can make you feel so many different emotions is always a winner in my book, and the characters themselves also seem great.