Review: Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

March 20, 2015 Book 14

Review: Liars, Inc. by Paula StokesLiars, Inc. by Paula Stokes
Genres: Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Young Adult
Published by Harper Collins on 2015-03-24
Source: Edelweiss, Provided by Author
Goodreads
AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

A dark and twisted psychological tale that will keep readers guessing, perfect for fans of I Hunt Killers and Gone Girl.

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money. So with the help of his friend Preston and his girlfriend, Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc.

Suddenly everybody needs something, and the cash starts pouring in.Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn't think twice about it. But then Preston never comes home. And the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead to Preston's body.Terrifying clues that point to Max as the killer….

“I don’t make to-do lists, but if I did, today’s would have gone something like this: 1. get drunk, 2. get laid, 3. go surfing (not necessarily in that order.) Noticeably absent from the list: get arrested.”

This is what you can expect with Liars, Inc.

A refreshing POV

Max is a male protagonist, and is written spectacularly well. He’s not a cliched male, and you can actually feel he’s a boy. It’s so refreshing because sometimes male POVs are so forced and unnatural, and this one was nothing of the sort.

I loved Max. He was smart, but stubborn, loyal, but practical, emotional, but closed-off. He’s very complex, but a joy to get to know. Being in his head was great. He was so relatable and wonderful.

I also liked how Max was so clever. I mean, being a teen facing a murder charge is horrible… but he uses his skills to try and find out what really happened.

Non-Stereotypical Characters

Parvati is his girlfriend, and she’s Indian. Her parents are extremely overprotective of her, but she doesn’t let this bring her down.

Parvati is 100% the brains in this book. She was so smart the whole time!

Plus Parvati is such a confident person. She is very in touch with her sexuality, and it’s something that not many YA authors do in fear that their character may seem “slutty”.

Parvati can very well take care of herself, and in fact, saves Max a couple of times, too.

Preston is another story altogether. He’s supposed to be typical rich boy, but with his disappearance and then murder, we find out so many things about him. It really shows that not everything is as it seems 😉

“Who knew lying could be so lucrative?”

Plot Twists

I was going crazy trying to guess what was going on. This story is so difficult to predict, because there were a lot of red herrings and Max himself was unreliable. I loved that I didn’t know what was going on, because that was what made me want to read faster!

Family

There’s a huge emphasis on family in this book! I’m so happy. Max’s family is amazing; even when he pushed them away, they were always there for him. It’s so different from typical YA with absentee parents, so I was so happy to see it here.

Lies, lies, lies. 

I mean, it’s called Liars, Inc. there has to be at least a little deception 😉

All in all, you’re in for a real ride with Liars, Inc. You’ll be captured from the very prologue and won’t be able to stop until you find out the truth.

“To me, Mother Nature isn’t nearly as scary as human nature.”

Rating Report
Plot
four-half-stars
Characters
four-half-stars
Writing
five-stars
Pacing
four-half-stars
Romance
four-stars
Overall: 4.5

If you thought my review was helpful, please consider voting for it on Goodreads 🙂

The following two tabs change content below.
I'm Marianne. Professional Fangirl, part-time Blogger. Full-time college student. GIFs are a natural part of my posts, so be warned. I LOVE reading, so definitely feel free to discuss books with me. Opinions are welcome.
  • I swear, I’ve heard nothing but good reviews about this book. And I’m so freaking excited because you guys are making me!! Haha. I love books that will keep me guessing and jam packed of plot twists! Great review Marianne! 🙂

  • shootingstarsmag

    Love the quotes you shared from the book. I keep hearing great things about this one too, so I’m really curious to check it out. I love when you aren’t sure what’s the truth or not.

    -Lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

    • Yes there was definitely a lot of that going on. I had so many theories but they were all wrong, haha. I hope you get to read it soon!

  • This book sounds absolutely amazing! I am loving how it’s hinged on the lies and Pavarti sounds like such a fascinating, strong, smart and brainy character. Wonderful review Marianne!

  • LOVED THIS! But I think you got the characters missed up. The book’s in Max’s POV, not Preston’s. 😉 I definitely agree that Parvati was an amazing character and I just loved her!

  • This one sounds really interesting, and everyone seems to be enjoying it! Books that keep you guessing are the best 🙂

  • Ooooo yay! I’m so glad you liked this one so much, Marianne 😀 I have heard next to nothing about this book, so it was great to read your thoughts and find out a little more about it! It sounds super unique, and I love the fact that there’s diversity and a girl in touch with her sexuality (I think this is a HUGE problem in YA, to be honest).

    I love books that involve guessing and lying, so I think I might enjoy this one 😀

    • I can’t believe you haven’t heard much about it! I feel like I’ve seen a lot of hype around it, haha. I was so glad with Parvati, because what’s wrong with a girl in touch with her sexuality?

      I hope you get to read this one, Chiara!

  • Woah, an Indian girlfriend! I love that, thumbs up for diversity!
    I’m very excited about this book, hopefully I’ll be able to buy it and read it soon :3

    Ps. Hi, I’m a new follower! :3

    I’d love if you stopped by my blog and say hi <3
    http://frannieinthepages.blogspot.com/