{Review} The Lost Boys by Lilian Carmine

February 6, 2014 Book 3

Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal
Series: #1 The Lost Boys Trilogy
Publisher: Ebury Press
Publication Date: October 24th 2013 (January 1st 2014 USA)
Source: eARC Provided by Publisher Via Netgalley

The Lost Boys

Goodreads Summary: 

An intensely addictive romance novel about girls, ghosts, and forbidden love, ideal for fans of Stephenie Meyer

 Fate has brought them together. But will it also keep them apart? Having moved to a strange town, 17-year-old Joey Gray is feeling a little lost, until she meets a cute, mysterious boy near her new home. But there’s a very good reason why Tristan Halloway is always to be found roaming in the local graveyard. Perfect for fans of Stephenie Meyer and Lauren Kate, The Lost Boys is a magical, romantic tale of girl meets ghost.

e880c-am db6b6-bn 3b3e4-goodreads_icon

Author Website

Jennifer

When I committed myself to reading books when I was a kid I never imagined that I’d feel such high quantities of frustration, and a big ball of wibbly wobbly emotions running around like naked people in a forest running from the police. Seriously. I haven’t felt like this in a while and, as much as it makes me be confused and ugh, it’s a welcomed emotion to combat against family problems and school drama. This review might have a few spoilers because I can’t make some points without some small-ish spoilers. Sorry.

I never write a review after barely 24 hours of having read it. I feel like my emotions will make this review weird but this, this book is pure emotions so it’s only fair to write about it while I still have those hurricanes in my system.

791ba-feels

Seventeen-year-old Joey Gray and her mom move to a strange new town called Esperanza after being offered a big job opportunity. Joe didn’t feel like she was leaving much behind in her other town since she barely made close friends or that stuff. Between feeling lost and starting anew, she befriends a mysterious and handsome boy by the name of Tristan. With black hair combed to the side, vibrant grey eyes, and a smile that melts her away, they soon become close friends after their endless walks and hanging out in the weirdest of places: the graveyard. When Joe discovers by accident that Tristan is in fact a ghost only witches and anyone related to the supernatural can see, something miraculous happens. Tristan comes back from the death, and bound to Joe by a spell she unconsciously made in the New Year, marking the beginning of a second chance for Tristan and also for Joe as she falls for her ex-ghost friend.

The premise was very promising, even with the comparison of Twilight. Don’t get me wrong, I like Twilight (don’t look at me with those judging eyes..) but a comparison with that book is a guarantee to repel anyone relatively interested in this book. Though, I don’t feel like it was alike in any way other than the age of the characters and stuff that are usual on teens that age.

Threw a coin in the air which means I will start with what I didn’t like here…

The book was supposed to be supernatural/paranormal. We are told about witches and spells and ghost coming back from the grave, plus an entity that has a job as fixing these anomalies out of the order of nature. The problem here was that that about 10% more or less of the book in the beginning was of that and how their lives (of Joe and Tristan) changes. After that we are thrown into a teen drama where they attend a boarding school, make friends, deal with gossip and too horny girls and boys, a band, and love. Don’t get me wrong, there was nothing bad with it. But where is my paranormal? It was mentioned here and there but barely present at all. Hello, this book needs that cos the plot goes around that. It’s like having the Earth going around the Sun but without a Sun to go around of. That doesn’t make much sense to me. Maybe to Sherlock, but that’s beside the point.

I also couldn’t comprehend the relation of the title and the story itself. The Lost Boys aren’t Tristan’s ghost friends come back too. They’re a band with no witch or wizard powers whatsoever. Why were they in the title then? There’s also nothing wrong with that, but, you know, maybe I just over-analyze everything.

This story had so much potential, had so many opportunities to develop into a great story of magic and mysteries with a love story with a deadline that you couldn’t escape. There were things unanswered, like how Joe was a witch and how she got her powers. Mom? Dad? Anyone care to explain? The convenient witch next door? No? Okay then… I was given half of what I expected and was handed teen drama with a bimbo slutty horny girl behind the hottest guy at school AKA Tristan AKA Joe’s hunky hunky love. The plot was great in general, yet I felt like it might have been a bit better. But that’s just my opinion.

Now that I’m done with the bad stuff, let’s praise!

While I didn’t see much character development that was significant, like maybe Tris of Divergent, Joe was a really likeable character. I was constantly wishing she was real so that we could be friends. I felt like I could relate to some of the things she went through plus how she thought. Because as much as some of us readers complain about female characters that do slut-shamming and stereotype and other stuff we don’t like, I’m guilty of doing that some times. I can’t help it sometimes. First impressions have a thing on you sometimes. But what made Joe feel real was that after that first moment she would ignore that and see for the good things, depending. As an example we have Tiffany. The blonde, hot body, boobs, smart, funny, and the richest girl in school, cheerleader captain and her squad of girls trailing behind. Gosh I hated her at first as much as Joe did. What surprised me was how Tiffany turned out to be different than I thought, how she changed and Joe accepted her, gave her a second opportunity, forgave and forgot past bad actions and thoughts of the girl. That is something remarkable of a person and the way it was delivered here, it felt real, and I consider that important. Strong-willed, stubborn, funny, self-sacrificing, even selfish and stupid sometimes, Joe felt human and not just words written by someone.

I think Tristan is everything I look for in a guy. Well-mannered, educated, smart, dedicated, compassionate, unselfish, funny, romantic, handsome, cute, with so many flaws and imperfections that make him even more perfect. Why do authors make guys like this?! Why do you make me rise my expectations on men even higher than what they are? Do you want me to be perpetually single for all of eternity? That’s not fair. Since I loved Tristan so much, I decided to cast him as Ansel Elgort:

My mind made Tristan be like this probably cos I had recently watched The Fault In Our Stars Trailer and couldn’t stop thinking of it… Even if Ansel’s hair and eyes are brown while Tristan’s hair is black and eyes grey, this would be perfect. So much beauty and perfectness here I feel like I might faint of the feels… <3

So, rounding it all up here, the book was great to be honest. I liked it tons and enjoyed it to no end. It was 512 pages that I ended in three days with little sleep. I don’t know how I made it, but I was not putting down that book. A minute without reading was torturous. I thank my school for not giving me homework this last weekend so that I could read in peace. Even with the things I mentioned before that I disliked, the book was overall greatly written, gripping tight the reader in its story. I want to buy it and hug it and put it in a high shelve in my wall and admire it with googly eyes. It has so much romance, so many things that some teens can relate to some times, a fresh escape from normal life into one where it’s full of love, possibilities, and friends that are there for you no matter what. Also, what a fine piece of specimen as the love interest. Like I said, nothing like Twilight. I strongly recommend this for anyone searching for a cute, funny, full of feels story with a sprinkle or supernatural here and there. It can be frustrating, but the author knew how to compensate.

That ending though, I can’t believe I have to wait for the sequel. So many great things coming this year ah!! <3

Rating: 4 stars

it was really good J signature
The following two tabs change content below.
I'm Jennifer. Addicted reader, and lover of books. I'm a full-time college student majoring in English Liturature and Linguistics & Communication, with aspirations of being a professional editor. Among other things. In the meantime, I obsess over books, history, art, and politics. I believe in freedom of speech and reading whatever you want. Open to discussions about anything and everything 🙂
  • Glad you’re still able to give this a relatively high rating despite your problems. I just downloaded this off Net Galley but reading your review doesn’t make me feel at all hopeful that I’ll be able to enjoy this (even with the swoon worthy Tristan). Whelp.

    • We all have our ups and downs ^_^

      And well, maybe it was just me, dunno. I hope you can like it at least a bit… I’ll be keeping an open eye to see your review. I’ve been disconnected for far too long now xD

  • Cait

    Ooh, I’m glad you like this one! I’ve seen it around a lot and I wanted to read it…but then most of the reviews I read said it was terrible. Sooo, I put it off. But I really like the premise. I agree, though, when books compare themselves to other (really famous) books, it’s kind of a turn-off. I used to pick up books that said “I’m the next Hunger Games!” and I almost ALWAYS hated them. They were nothing like THG. I didn’t mind Twilight either, although it’s not a top fav. Anyway! I think I’ll put this back on the wish-list. 😉