Timekeeper by Tara Sim [Review]: A Steampunk Fantasy With a M/M Romance!

November 1, 2016 Book 1 ★★★★½

Timekeeper by Tara Sim [Review]: A Steampunk Fantasy With a M/M Romance!Timekeeper by Tara Sim
Genres: Steampunk, Fantasy, Young Adult
Series: Timekeeper #1
Published by Sky Pony Press on November 1st 2016
Source: Edelweiss, Provided by Publisher
Goodreads
AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
four-half-stars

Two o’clock was missing.

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

My Thoughts:

Set in a Victorian London where time is “kept” by clock mechanics, Timekeeper tells the story of Danny, the youngest and brightest mechanic in London who’s been assigned a job at Colton Tower.

“They wouldn’t understand, not when they didn’t have the ability to touch time the way mechanics did. Without the mechanics, the towers wouldn’t function. Without the towers, the world wouldn’t function.”

Danny is our protagonist, and we see from the beginning that he’s suffering from PTSD after an accident in a clock tower that almost killed him a few months before. To add to that, his father has been stuck in a town where time has stopped moving, and both Danny and his mother think it’s Danny’s fault. Danny is sad and withdrawn, just trying to prove that his accident hasn’t compromised his abilities to prove he’s the best mechanic out there.

“He was a boy of air and dust and sunlight. Everything that had gone into the making of the world.”

Colton is strange, there’s no doubt about it. He’s inexperienced and innocent, a boy who hasn’t learned much of anything, except what he can observe from the citizens of his town over the years. I loved Colton. He was so sweet, so wholesome. I wanted to wrap him up in a warm sweater and give him some hot cocoa or something. You couldn’t help but feel a need to protect him in some way.

That’s one of the reasons why his romance with Danny is so beautiful. Colton is the clock tower’s ghost; a personification of the tower itself. At first I thought it was kind of weird, (a clock tower having feelings) but the author developed the romance so beautifully, that any doubt in my mind was erased. Colton and Danny are both finding things in each other they didn’t know they needed, and they’re truly the sweetest together.

“You’re chaos and order and everything in between. Like sunshine kept back by clouds. Like the entire world’s imploded inside you, but all I see are the stars that are sewn into your skin. You’re filled with soft, dark music.” [Colton’s] smile was gentle. “I hear it all the time. Your music.”

The best thing about this book is the fact that there’s more to it than meets the eye. The summary promises a magical romance, but it also tells you that there’s a thrilling mystery that Danny has to unravel before it’s too late and it totally delivers! The mystery itself was so surprising! I couldn’t guess what was happening until the end, and then I was kept at the edge of my seat because the stakes are SO HIGH. No one is safe, and the danger Danny and Colton face is so palpable, that it’ll have you gripping your book tightly in anticipation of what might happen next.

My only strife with the book was the pacing at first. I found myself kind of lost at what was happening for the first few chapters (but maybe it’s my own fault because I’m not that great at reading steampunk). However this is over quickly as I got more engrossed in the story.

Overall, Timekeeper is a LGBT+ steampunk set in an alternate Victorian London where time has to be controlled by mechanics. The romance is amazing, the characterization great, and the writing engaging. The story has a great resolution while still leaving a bit of a mystery for the next book. I can’t wait to read the sequel!

Rating Report
Plot
five-stars
Characters
four-half-stars
Writing
four-half-stars
Pacing
four-stars
Romance
five-stars
Overall: 4.6

If you thought my review was helpful, please consider voting for it on Goodreads!
The following two tabs change content below.
I'm Marianne. Professional Fangirl, part-time Blogger. Full-time college student. GIFs are a natural part of my posts, so be warned. I LOVE reading, so definitely feel free to discuss books with me. Opinions are welcome.