Waiting on Wednesday (1)

September 18, 2013 Features 14

New WoW

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s Waiting On Wednesday are:


Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Publication Date: January 28th 2014

Goodreads Summary: When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. This suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

Find the Book on Goodreads 

The Dogs of Christmas

The Dogs of Christmas by W. Bruce Cameron

Publication Date: October 15th of 2013

Goodreads Summary: While nursing a broken heart, Josh Michaels is outraged when a neighbor abandons his very pregnant dog, Lucy, at Josh’s Colorado home. But Josh can’t resist Lucy’s soulful brown eyes, and though he’s never had a dog before, he’s determined to do the best he can for Lucy—and her soon-to-arrive, bound-to-be-adorable puppies.

Soon in over his head, Josh calls the local animal shelter for help, and meets Kerri, a beautiful woman with a quick wit and a fierce love for animals. As Kerri teaches Josh how to care for Lucy’s tiny puppies and gets them ready to be adopted through the shelter’s “Dogs of Christmas” program, Josh surprises himself by falling for her.

But he’s fallen even harder for his new furry family, which has brought incredible joy into Josh’s life. He barely has time to sit down, between chasing after adventurous Sophie and brave Oliver, but when he does, his lap is quickly filled by the affectionate Lola. And Rufus and Cody’s strong bond makes Josh wonder about his own relationships with his family.
With Christmas and the adoption date looming, Josh finds himself wondering if he can separate himself from his beloved puppies. At odds with Kerri, Josh isn’t willing to lose her, but doesn’t know how to set things right. Can a surprise litter of Christmas puppies really change one man’s life?
W. Bruce Cameron’s The Dogs of Christmas is a charming and heartwarming holiday tale that explores the power of love, trust, and a basket full of puppies.

Find the Book on Goodreads

The following two tabs change content below.
We're two Puertorican girls who want to share our love of reading with the world. We sometimes substitute words for GIFS and either rant or fangirl a lot in our reviews. Talk to us about anything! 🙂
  • Awesome choice, I’ll be sure to add it to my TBR list. ;D

    Waiting on Wednesday
    Andy @ Owl Always Be Reading

  • Uninvited is on my list and ooh the Dogs of Christmas just looks too cute!

    • I know! Dogs of Christmas spunds like a perfect read!

  • Wow, these are both so different, but I like the sound of them. Great choices! Thanks for visiting today:)

    • Anytime! I loved your post! I’m an old follower 🙂

      -Marianne

  • Aw, I really want to read that second book but I’m so afraid it will be another Marley and Me, I still haven’t recovered from that D: So sad. But so good!

    • I read W. Bruce Cameron’s first dog books A Dog’s Purpose and A Dog’s Journey. Both were amazing but I cried like a baby on the second one. It’s not like Marley and Me because, at least in those two books, the dog keeps reincarnating into another dog over and over again until he at some points makes his true purpose and goes to a kind of dog heaven (awwww :3 lol). Though I have no idea what to expect on this one since it’s not the same dog anymore! But I assure you, if you cry, it’ll be worth it, in the case you’re a dog lover and love those kinds of books <3

      ~Jennifer

  • *eeep* I cant wait to read Uninvited! It sounds awesome!

    Teresa @ Readers Live A Thousand Lives

    • Yeah I know! Being pre-dispositioned to be a killer? SOUNDS AWESOME! Thanks for stopping by.

  • Great pick. Uninvited sounds very interesting. It does sound a bit like Minority Report (being condemned for something that you haven’t actually done yet). I like the idea!

    Thanks for stopping by.

    • I haven’t read Minority Report. Ill be sure to check it out!

  • Ohhh! Looks fabulous! I want to read this one.
    Thanks for stopping by my WoW, too! 🙂

  • Wow, Uninvited sounds amazing! Can’t believe that one hasn’t made it on my radar yet. It definitely is now! Already added it to the TBR list! Thanks for sharing!